Category Race Results

Dringfa Dau Gymal / Two Stage Hill Climb0

two stage

Read More

Energy Cycling Club, Snowdon Mountain Time Trial – 07.06.160

Well what an evening? A record number of riders signed on for this the fourth edition of the  Energy Cycling Club’s mountain time trial around the Snowdon massif, and quite a few new faces joined the more seasoned riders in the field. With a warm evening breeze, moderately high humidity, dry roads and the float conditions were near perfect for fast times, but would the man in great form, current course record holder, and British National Road Race Champion, Gareth McGuinness  be able improve on his time of 1 hour, 15 minutes and 14 seconds?

This race isn’t for the pure testers, its more for the all round “roadmen” on this anything but an easy course. Tough repetitive climbing, technically demanding, nerve shedding, white knuckle descents...

Read More

Energy Cycling Club 10 mile Time Trial – 10.05.20160

Well it certainly wasn’t the nicest weather conditions we’d ever experienced on this sporting course from Aberdesach to Llanaelhaearn and back to Aberdesach. Light persistant rain created rivers of water across the carriageway, and pools gathered at the sides that created obstacles for fast moving fellows on skinny tyres. Despite this and a nagging breeze, a record number of riders for this course, turned out and rose to the challenge. From the more experienced riders like Energy Cycling Club’s Gareth McGuinness and Garry Ellis, and the rising youngsters Twm Bryn, Osian Craig, Huw Owen, Jack Williams, and Sion-Kelly Williams, to the eight members of Clwb Seiclo Madog who joined us for the evening...

Read More

Energy Cycling Club’s Gwynedd Cycling Association 10 mile 2-Up TTT – 21.4.160

Fine spring sunshine and warm conditions greeted all those who took part in the first event of the Gwynedd Cycling Association 2016 series, but conditions were not perfect with a stiff north easterly breeze making the outward leg of the Aberdesach/ Llanwnda/Aberdesach course quite testing. However all the competitors rose to the challenge and produced some excellent times for this course, and so early in the season.

Thirteen teams faced the time keeper, some of them old hands at this discipline, but many of the competitors having never ridden in such an event before.

First away were Energy Cycling Clubs own Arwel Williams & Elgan Rowlands, two riders new to time trialing, and they didn’t let themselves down with a fantastic time of 24.25, which gave them 8th overall...

Read More

Mon Arfon League 2015 – Results0

Each year Club members compete in a series of open time trial competitions organised by Holyhead Cycling Club, Clwb Rasio Mona and ourselves. During the 2015 season it was five events, of which four events counted for the overall awards.

In recent years riders from Energy Cycling Club has dominated this series, and once again the racing members within the Club haven’t disappointed. The Club’s riders have won “The Team” title again. The 2015 season saw some new faces come to the fore, and there’s been some shuffling of places at the top of the overall placing. The young up and coming members have shown what they are capable of, and will prove their worth in the coming years.

On behalf of the clubs involved and riders who took part, a huge “Thank You!” goes to Wendy and Will Owen who wor...

Read More

Energy Cycling Club Nantgwynant Climb Results – 18.10.150

Thanks goes to Wayne Owen for organising the last EEC event of the 2015 season, and to Bethan Jones, Ruth Broderick, Shan Jones,  Dylan Griffiths, Gareth McGuinness, Huw Williams, Mathew Nottingham, and Darren Bohana who turned out to marshal, enabling the 27 brave people to have one final race of the season.

Thank you to all the riders who competed in our events during 2015, a record number  left the time keepers this year. Same again next year then?

ENERGY CYCLING CLUB Nantgwynant Hill Climb – Sunday 18 October 2015
Position Name Club Actual Time
1 Ben Butler CRM 13:59
2 Gerallt Roberts ECC 14:05
3 Kieran Wynne Cattanach (J) Team Elite 14:52
4 Huw Owen (Y) ECJRT 15:26
4 Tom Brazier Team Elite 15:26
6 Mike Morris NFTO Race 15:33
7 Jack Williams (J) ECJRT 15:52
Read More

Fachwen to Llyn Marchlyn Hill Climb – 20.09.150

Thanks to all the riders for turning up on this cool and damp Sunday morning for the final Energy Cycling Club hill climb of the season. A few familiar faces were missing due to racing commitments elsewhere, so I’m grateful that 23 signed on with us at Y Caban in Brynrefail.

Yet again we were unable to race up to the surge pond, however thanks must go to EDF for allowing us to race up the track to Llyn Marchlyn instead. Its slightly unusual to have to hop on and off your bike to negotiate a gate whilst attempting a hill climb!

The 4...

Read More

Llanberis Pass Hill Climb- 05.09.150

The Llanberis Pass is one of the UK’s classic cycling climbs, and riders from around the world regularly take in the stunning and dramatic scenery and test themselves on the steep gradients of “The Pass”.

Every autumn, riders from local cycling clubs and teams converge on Nant Peris to compete in the Llanberis Pass Hill Climb Time Trial, this year organised by members and friends of Energy Cycling Club on the eve of the Tour of Britain. The following day the pro riders would be fighting it out on the same road at the top of the category 1 climb for the first dual in the “King of the Mountains” points competition in the Tour of Britain.

A great deal of interest was shown by the local cycling community and those from further afield, with four current national champions signing on t...

Read More

Energy Cycling Club’s circuit race at Track Mon – 18.08.150

This was the second of two superb races held on the purpose made motor race circuit at Ty Croes, organised by the Club’s very own Wayne Owen. And once again an exciting evenings racing was anticipated by the spectators and the competing riders. And the riders didn’t disappoint.

Many of those who competed in the first event last month returned, perhaps buoyed by their previous positive experiences, and the stunning weather that greeted them.  Along with some new faces, they wanted to see if their late summer form could be turned into victory on the testing 2.1 mile “International Circuit”.

This evening event was a handicap race of fifty minutes, plus three laps, and was anticipated in lasting an hour...

Read More

The 2015 Welsh National 10 Mile Time Trial Championship – 16.08.150

Last Sunday saw a full field of riders face the time keeper in the Welsh National 10 Mile Individual Time Trial Championships, promoted by Pontypool Road Cycling Club on the Abergavenny to Raglan course in South Wales.

Energy Cycles Junior Road Team members Jack Williams and Huw Owen, along with Club members Alun Williams and Garry Ellis took the trip south to test themselves against some of the best riders in the country, and they didn’t come away disappointed.

The weather conditions were ideal for this form of cycle racing, where individual riders are set off a one minute intervals and the fastest rider over the distance is the winner...

Read More