Energy Cycling Club 10 mile MA League TT Results -2.06.15

The weather turned good, not perfect, but good enough for time trialing. It was a true test for the riders against time and the elements.

With a strong tail wind on their backs leaving the start, riders were recording average speeds in excess of 28 mph and some over 30 mph down to the turn at Llanwnda. However the dream of a tail wind became a nightmare as the riders fought their way back to the finish. Despite the strength of the wind, some riders managed to improve on their PB for this demanding course (Huw Owen 24.51), whilst the majority added a minute or more to the time they produced last month on this course.

There was a slight shuffle at the top of the standings, with Gareth McGuinness once again taking 1st, Garry Ellis moving up and taking 2nd place (Fastest Veteran)  ahead of Gerallt Roberts in 3rd, and Fastest Senior. Fastest of the Super Veterans was John Williams. Fastest Junior, and 4th overall was Jack Williams. Fastest Youth rider and 5th overall was Huw Owen. Absolutely fantastic performances from both riders, and a good indicator of their form ahead of the GHS Time Trial Championships on 13th June. And once again young Gwenno Hughes stomped her mark on local women’s racing by taking the Fastest Lady prize.

Thank you to all the riders who turned up, full of enthusiasm despite the windy conditions. Thank you should also go to the guys from Clwb Seiclo Madog, and Clwb Beicio Dwyfor who despite not being part of The League, made the trip over to Aberdesach.

A huge personal thank you to the marshals. Huw Williams and Derek Sayer for their help during the signing on, and at the start and finish area. To John Lloyd Williams for carrying out his marshaling duties at the Alt Goch junction. And to Malcolm Summers, Mike Le Bon and Dilwyn Davies for marshaling the difficult roads at Llanwnda. And finally (almost there!!) to Will and Wendy Owen for just being there, encouraging and chatting with the riders and their helpers, collecting and sorting the numbers for me at the finish (old habits die hard Wendy). Thank you both!!

A quick reminder that ECC will be holding its Summer Hill Climb time trial on the Nant Gwynant climb up to Pen y Pass Youth Hostel on Thursday 11th June. Full details will be published on Sunday evening.

Thank you all once again, its great fun being involved with you all, hopefully the conditions will be better for you next week……..

Position Name Club Actual Time
1 Gareth McGuinness ECC 0:23:10
2 Garry Ellis ECC 0:23:18
3 Gerallt Roberts ECC 0:23:55
4 Jack Williams ECC 0:24:15
5 Huw Owen ECC 0:24:51
6 Steffan Jones CBD 0:24:53
7 Caron Rees Jones CBD 0:25:44
8 Dafydd Hughes ECC 0:25:45
9 Glenn Manifold ECC 0:26:24
10 Hedd Roberts CSM 0:27:00
11 John Williams ECC 0:27:01
12 Phil Lynes n/a 0:27:21
13 Rhys Rowlands CSM 0:27:31
14 Sion Ellis ECC 0:27:44
15 Twm Bryn ECC 0:28:02
16 Gwenno Hughes ECC 0:28:56
17 Cadi Wyn Jones ECC 0:30:07
18 Meurig Rowlands CSM 0:31:00