Energy Cycles Final Hill Climb Events of 20130

The Club will be holding its final event of the year on Sunday, 22nd September. It’s the Two Stage Hill Climb based on the Drws y Coed and Groeslon climbs. The start times have been brought forward for both events, as there is a road running race using the Nantlle Valley later in the morning. (thanks goes to Mathew Roberts for letting me know about this).

The start time will now be 10.00 am for the Drws Y Coed, and 11.30 am for the Groeslon climb. The signing on (from 9.00am) for Drws Y Coed will be at the large layby at the end of the long straight approaching the climb on the B4418, and not at the Inigo Jones Slate Works as originally planned. Once the first stage is complete we’ll move over to Inigo Jones (at the roundabout on the A487/ Penygroes junction), process the results and produce the start order for the Groeslon climb, which will start adjacent to the old post office/phone box in Groeslon.

If the Marchlyn Hill Climb wasn’t your cup of tea, then maybe these two climbs are what your looking for.

As part of this event there will be a competition for the Junior riders taking part (under 18 years on the day of the races) . The top three Juniors will receive a medal for their efforts based on their total times for the two climbs. I hope to see you there young-men……you are our future!

For the Senior members of Energy Cycles, the Club has established a Best All Rounder (BAR) competition for 2013. This is based on four events (fastest 10, 15, & 25 mile TT and the 5.5 mile hill climb from Pen Llyn to the surge pool at Marchlyn). To qualify Club members  had ride any of the local cycling club events including  HCC, CRM, RoS & our own. The BAR will be decided on the fastest average aggregate mph. Riders are responsible for informing the General Secretary (John K. on or before 30th September 2013) of their fastest times to be eligible for the BAR. All as agreed at the general meeting on 19th March 2013.

The top three riders overall will receive a medal, and the BAR will receive a trophy on a perpetual basis i.e. will keep it for one year and hand the trophy back at the end of each season. It will then be awarded to the new BAR. The trophy and medals will be awarded at the AGM in October.

Please keep an eye out for the next post with date of the AGM and details of this winters Turbo Training Sessions.

Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>