Energy Cycles Marchlyn Hill-Climb Results,

Please let me start with an apology for the delay in publishing the results for our autumn hill climb, internet problems since the connection was hit by lightening last Thursday.


We were blessed with perfect weather for this spectacular climb up from Pen Llyn to the head works at Llyn Marchlyn, 4.9 miles of climbing on varying qualities of road surface (when, oh when is Gwynedd Council going to resurface the lower sections of the route?) and degrees of steepness.


A good mix of riders departed the time keeper on their way to the reservoir, some 1732 vertical feet above them. We had the newly crowned mens and womens Welsh National Hill Climb Champions (Dan Evans and Jess Roberts of Team Elite), and local man on climbing form and winner at Pen y Pass and Stwlan earlier this month, Gerallt Roberts of Clwb Rasio Mona. Along with our own junior climbing sensations, and very much in form, Jack Williams (winner at Stwlan) and Huw Owen (winner at Pen y Pass). All out to prove that they were the riders to beat on this demanding climb. And they didn’t disappoint.


Dan Evans volunteered to depart first, and in the process reminded us all what a phenomenal athlete he is by setting an impressive time of 21.41. This now being the course record. A time that will no doubt stand for some time, though I’m willing to be proved wrong….


The battle for top honours in the different categories wasn’t taken lightly by any of those competing. Dilwyn Davies taking the Vets prize. Jess Roberts was the best Lady. Hopefully next year we’ll have a few more of the local ladies competing against the likes of Jess. The competition for best Junior was keenly fought, and Huw Owen came away as the winner in this category. More impressively, his time of 28.57 gave him the honour of being best placed Energy Cycles Club rider and fifth place overall.


Thanks to all the riders who made the effort to come and test themselves. I will ensure that any prizes that you have won are with you within two weeks.


I’d like to thank everyone who aided in putting the race on. Garry Ellis for once again putting together a team of 7 magnificent marshals (Ruth, Mike, Wayne, Huw, Carwyn, Chris and Gwynfor), who without we wouldn’t have been able to run the event. Thanks very much guys!!!


From the riders and myself, thanks goes to Mr. Geraint Wyn Jones of First Hydro who enabled us to use the road up to Llyn Marchlyn, despite the restrictions placed on him by EDF


And finally, thanks to everyone who has made the effort to compete, marshal, help out, photograph, and spectate at our races during 2014. Hopefully we’ll see you all (and others) again in 2015 for some more exciting racing on our local roads…….


Position Name Club Actual Time Winners
1 Dan Evans Team Elite 0:21:41 1st
2 Gerallt Roberts Clwb Rasio Mona 0:24:57 2nd
3 Danny Roberts Clwb Rasio Mona 0:27:43 3rd
4 Iwan Parry Clwb Rasio Mona 0:27:57
5 Huw Owen Energy Cycles Club 0:28:57 1st Youth
6 Dilwyn Davies Energy Cycles Club 0:29:01 1st Vet
7 Mathew Nottingham Energy Cycles Club 0:29:11
8 Dylan Griffiths Energy Cycles Club 0:29:17
9 Colin Pritchard Clwb Rasio Mona 0:29:29
10 Steffan Jones Clwb Beicio Dwyfor 0:29:29 2nd Vet
11 Jack Williams Energy Cycles Club 0:29:33 2nd Youth
12 Alun Williams Energy Cycles Club 0:29:46 3rd Vet
13 Jamie Holding Energy Cycles Club 0:30:22
14 Meirion Davies Energy Cycles Club 0:30:30
15 Dafydd Hughes Energy Cycles Club 0:31:37
16 John Wililams Energy Cycles Club 0:33:31
17 Mark Rigby Clwb Seiclo Madog 0:34:04
18 Jessica Roberts Team Elite 0:34:20 1st Lady



Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>