Energy Cycles Prenteg Hill Climb, Results -19.6.140

This much talked about climb had never been used for a “hill climb” event before. It reputation as a “killer” or “beast” of a climb puts some people off from testing themselves against the steep sections of tarmac that winds its way out of Prenteg and up towards Cwmystradllyn. With unrelenting steepness and sections ramping up to 28% during the 1.6 miles, this was not a climb for the faint hearted.

Though the conditions were near perfect, a slight nagging head wind didn’t make life any easier for the competitors as they climbed onto Mynydd Gorllwyn. This is a real “climbers” climb, and there was certainly a reshuffling of the order of domination by the smaller riders who turned out to compete. New faces in the hill climbing world came to the fore.

Former Energy Cycles Club member Ben Butler, now of Bangor University CC, stormed to victory and was the only rider to beat the ten minute mark. I have a feeling that this time may stand for a while, though someone out there may just prove me wrong.

Position Name Club Actual Time Winners
1 Ben Butler BUCC 00:09:46 1st
2 Gerallt Roberts CRM 00:10:08 2nd
3 Sam Smith not attached 00:10:10 3rd
4 Iwan Morton ECC 00:10:14
5 Gareth McGuiness ECC 00:10:24 1st Vet
6 Mike Morris RonS 00:10:32
7 Jamie Holding ECC 00:10:43 2nd Vet
8 Dylan Griffiths ECC 00:10:54
9 Huw Owen ECC 00:11:16 1st Youth
10 Sam Green BUCC 00:11:22
11 Steffan Jones CBD 00:11:30 3rd Vet
12 Peter Barton CSM 00:11:30
13 Jack Williams ECC 00:11:39 2nd Youth
14 James Franks ECC 00:11:44
15 Matthew Roberts ECC 00:11:45
16 Alun Williams ECC 00:11:50
17 Mark Lane CSM 00:11:56
18 Dafydd Evans RonS 00:11:59
19 Gwyn-Arfon Williams ECC 00:12:00
20 Hedd Roberts CSM 00:12:08
21 Callum Dixon RonS 00:12:23
22 Delme Davies CRM 00:12:39
23 Osian Craig ECC 00:12:41 3rd Youth
24 Ian Houghton CRM 00:12:50
25 John Williams ECC 00:13:16
26 Dylan Davies CBD 00:14:01
27 Gareth Lloyd Williams CRM 00:14:40
28 Ann Williams CBD 00:14:46
29 Llion Williams ECC 00:16:40
30 Caron Rees Jones CBD DNF

I’d like to thank all the competitors for participating, an encouraging turnout for the location. I know many of you rode out and home again. I was chuffed that lads from Clwb Rasio Mona and Rhos on Sea Cycling Club made the effort to come and take part, I hope it was worth your while. You deserve a pat on the back, in fact all of you deserve a pat for taking up the challenge that this event threw down. Hopefully we’ll hold it again next year, and maybe we’ll see you there again.

I’d like to thank Ruth and Derek for aiding with the marshaling and time keeping, without them this event wouldn’t have taken place. Please remember, if you have any queries please do not hesitate to contact me.

Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>