Energy Cycling Club’s Gwynedd Cycling Association 10 mile 2-Up TTT – 21.4.160

Fine spring sunshine and warm conditions greeted all those who took part in the first event of the Gwynedd Cycling Association 2016 series, but conditions were not perfect with a stiff north easterly breeze making the outward leg of the Aberdesach/ Llanwnda/Aberdesach course quite testing. However all the competitors rose to the challenge and produced some excellent times for this course, and so early in the season.

Thirteen teams faced the time keeper, some of them old hands at this discipline, but many of the competitors having never ridden in such an event before.

First away were Energy Cycling Clubs own Arwel Williams & Elgan Rowlands, two riders new to time trialing, and they didn’t let themselves down with a fantastic time of 24.25, which gave them 8th overall. Well done gentlemen, just don’t stop what you are doing, because its working!!

Congratulations goes to Energy Cycling Clubs Steffan Jones & Gareth McGuinness who produced a superb time that was only 25 seconds shy of the course record, a record that was set in August 2013.

It was obvious that some competitors had been serious with their winter and early spring training sessions, Anglesey Cycling Groups, Danny Roberts & Colin Pritchard in particular who rode strongly together to take 2nd overall, and Energy Cycling Clubs young vets, Alun Williams & Wayne Owen who took 3rd overall, and only 3 seconds away from second place.

To the youngsters who competed, you all should be proud of your results, with Huw Owen & Jack Williams of the junior road team taking 4th place and the Juniors Competition. Cadi Jones & Twm Bryn taking the Youth Competition. And junior rider, Elain Davies of Clwb Beicio Dwyfor partnering Ann Williams to take the Ladies Competition.

Thanks to all who rode and those who came to support the riders this evening, particularly those who had traveled some distance to compete, I hope it was worth your while.

Once again I would like thank Huw Williams & Rob Fogg for safely dispatching the riders from the start. To Dave Hughes, John Williams, Meurig Rowlands & Osian Craig for assisting with marshaling. To series organiser, Dylan Williams for being my wing man, and checking my timings. And to Ruth for doing just about everything else around the course to ensure the race went ahead. Without you all, we’d not have been able to hold this event. Cheers from all who took part this evening.

And finally to Graham Edwards of Rhos on Sea CC who took a nasty tumble after the event. Get well soon Graham, we all hope to see you back on your bike and competing again soon.

Position Name & Club Actual Time Prize
1 Gareth McGuinness & Steffan Jones – ECC 21:42 1st
2 Colin Pritchard & Danny Roberts – ACG 22:06 2nd
3 Alun Williams & Wayne Owen – ECC 22:09 3rd
4 Huw Owen & Jack Williams – ECJRT 22:22 1st Juniors
5 Euros Jones & Meirion Davies – ECC 23:00 1st Vets
6 Dilwyn Davies & Garry Ellis – ECC 24:02 1st Vets on Standard
7 David Barr & Stephan Nuttall – RoS 24:21
8 Arwel Williams & Elgan Rowlands -ECC 24:25
9 Glenn Manifold & Gwyn Arfon Williams – ECC 24:32
10 Ms. Cadi Wyn Jones & Twm Bryn – ECJRT 25:06 1st Youths
11 Hedd Roberts & Rhys Rowlands – CSM 25:16
12 Alan Wheeler & Graham Edwards – RoS 26:53
13 Ms. Eirwen Ann Williams & Ms. Elain Davies  – CBD 29:41 1st Ladies

Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>