Fachwen to Llyn Marchlyn Hill Climb – 20.09.150

Thanks to all the riders for turning up on this cool and damp Sunday morning for the final Energy Cycling Club hill climb of the season. A few familiar faces were missing due to racing commitments elsewhere, so I’m grateful that 23 signed on with us at Y Caban in Brynrefail.

Yet again we were unable to race up to the surge pond, however thanks must go to EDF for allowing us to race up the track to Llyn Marchlyn instead. Its slightly unusual to have to hop on and off your bike to negotiate a gate whilst attempting a hill climb!

The 4.9 miles and 1732 vertical feet of climbing was made slightly easier this year due to the lower section finally being resurfaced through the twists and turns under the trees to Fachwen, However it didn’t advantage the riders enough to beat Dan Evans of Team Elite’s course record set last autumn, so 21:41 is still the time to conquer in the future.

1st place went to Kieran of Team Elite with a time of 23:53. In 2nd place Gerallt of Energy Cycling Club at 23:59 improving his time from last year by an impressive 58 seconds and 3rd place to Ben of Clwb Rasio Mona with a time of 24:06.

Thanks to Alun and Wayne for offering to forgo racing to help me run the race today and for being time keepers at the top of the climb, without them we would not have been able to run the event today.

As always, thanks to Gary for organising marshals. Thanks to everyone for giving up your Sunday morning to help out. Mathew, Llion, and Mr Ellis for marshalling at the difficult junctions. Osian and Martin for making the transition over of the gate as smooth as possible for the riders. Gwynfor for acting as pusher off and Shân for her help and support with signing on and marshalling at the start line. Thanks also to Hedd and the others who double checked the results for me – the most nerve racking part of coordinating a race. Plus thanks to John for all the organisation behind the scenes pre-race.


Position Name Club Actual Time
1 Kieran Wynne-Cattanch (U23) Elite 23:53 1st
2 Gerallt Roberts ECC 23:59 2nd
3 Ben Butler CRM 24:06 3rd
4 Mike Morris NFTO RC 26:24
5 Mark Jones CRM 26:34
6 Iwan Parry CRM 26:39
7 Garry Ellis (V) ECC 27:04 1st Vet
8 Danny Roberts CRM 27:20
9 Callum Dixon Rhos CC 28:02
10 Euros Jones (V) CRM 28:30 2nd Vet
11 Sion Ellis (J) ECJRT 28:36 1st Junior
12 Colin Pritchard CRM 29:17
13 Bryn Williams (V) ECC 29:36 3rd Vet
14 Mitch Russell ECC 30:23
15 Hedd Roberts (V) CSM 30:39
16 Meirion Davies (V) ECC 30:42
17 Jamie Holding (V) ECC 30:43
18 Dafydd Hughes ECC 31:16
19 Paul Greer (V) ECC 31:48
20 Ben Smith 32:16
21 Huw Parry (V) CRM 33:13
22 Dewi Emlyn (V) 34:53
23 Rob Fogg (V) ECC 35:11



Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>