Llanberis Pass Hill Climb- 05.09.150

The Llanberis Pass is one of the UK’s classic cycling climbs, and riders from around the world regularly take in the stunning and dramatic scenery and test themselves on the steep gradients of “The Pass”.

Every autumn, riders from local cycling clubs and teams converge on Nant Peris to compete in the Llanberis Pass Hill Climb Time Trial, this year organised by members and friends of Energy Cycling Club on the eve of the Tour of Britain. The following day the pro riders would be fighting it out on the same road at the top of the category 1 climb for the first dual in the “King of the Mountains” points competition in the Tour of Britain.

A great deal of interest was shown by the local cycling community and those from further afield, with four current national champions signing on to race. Dan Evans (Team Elite) the British and Welsh National Hill Climb Champion and record holder for this climb. Jessica Roberts (Team Elite) Welsh National Hill Climb Champion, Garry Ellis (Energy Cycling Club) Welsh National Veterans 25 mile TT Champion, and rising star in the youth ranks Huw Owen (Energy Cycles Junior Road Team) Welsh National Youth 10 mile TT Champion.

The early morning drizzle soon cleared, and when the first competitors arrived in Nant Peris to sign on, the sun was shinning and the air temperature steadily rose despite the breeze blowing up towards The Pass.

The competitors leave the time keeper at one minute intervals and head east up to the finish at Pen y Pass, the route climbing 263m in 5.15km.

Local boy, Sir Dave Brailsford of Team Sky took time out of his busy schedule whilst in the area for the Grand Depart of the Tour of Britain to support the riders and award the prizes to the winners.

By the time the first riders were leaving the time keeper, the weather conditions were near perfect for fast times, but would any records be broken? The times posted by the early starters indicated that a new course record could be possible, with Clwb Rasio Mona’s Ben Butler (eventual 2nd place) and Energy Cycling Club’s Geraint Roberts (eventual 3rd place) both setting times close to the existing record. But would their times be good enough to take the win? Less than ten minutes later Dan Evans flew over the line in a breath taking time of 9 minutes and 50 seconds, to set a new record time with an average speed of just over 30.22 kph.

The rivalry in the vets category (over 40s) between the Energy Cycling Club locals produced some impressive times with Gareth McGuinness (5th place overall) holding off Garry Ellis (7th place overall) by 34 seconds and with a margin of over a minute on next best vet Gareth Bowyer of Team Elite (12th overall).

In the Under 23 category, Kieran Wynne-Cattanach of Team Elite took 1st (4th overall) with a very impressive time of 11 minutes and 1 second, a time if set a couple of years ago would have been the course record. The competition between the junior riders (16 -18 year old) was extremely close with Morgan Hughes of Team Wallis winning with a time of 12 minutes and 28 seconds, an agonising 1 second over Jack Williams of Energy Cycles Junior Road Team. However, 44 seconds quicker was 15 year old youth rider Huw Owen of Energy Cycles Junior Road Team who also finished 6th overall. The future of Welsh Cycling looks very bright with these stars from North Wales

Jess Roberts was 1st Woman with a time of 14 minutes and 46 seconds showing us all why she’s the Welsh National Hill Climb Champion.

As always in these races, without the marshals I wouldn’t be able to organise these races. A huge, huge THANK YOU goes to the time keepers, Ruth Broderick, and Wendy & Will Owen. To Dave Owen who proficiently released the riders at the start. To Bethan Jones, Cadi Jones and Gwenno Hughes (whose photo of the winners is below) for aiding the riders after they finished at Pen y Pass. To Shan Jones, John Lloyd Williams, Huw Whyte, Llion Williams, Andrew Rowe, and Andrew Craig for marshalling at those high risk points on the climb, a task done perfectly.

And last but not least, to Dafydd Richard Hughes who opened up his cafe to us all at Pen y Pass to create such a great atmosphere after the finish. Thank you Dafydd!!

Thank you all for a great day on “The Pass”. I hope we’ll see you all again on Sunday 20th September, for the final Energy Cycling Clubs hill climb of the year, from Brynrefail to Llyn Marchlyn.

Position Name Club Actual Time
1 Dan Evans Team Elite 09:50 1st
2 Ben Butler CRM 10:52 2nd
3 Gerallt Roberts ECC 10:56 3rd
4 Kieran Wynne-Cattanach (U23) Team Elite 11:01 1st U23
5 Gareth McGuinness (V) ECC 11:33 1st Vet
6 Huw Owen (Y) ECJRT 11:44 1st Youth
7 Garry Ellis (V) ECC 12:01 2nd Vet
8 Iwan Parry CRM 12:07
9 Andy Ramo RHOS 12:19
10 Morgan Hughes (J) Team Wallis 12:28 1st Junior
11 Jack Williams (J) ECJRT 12:29 2nd Junior
12 Gareth Bowyer (V) Team Elite 12:35 3rd Vet
13 Dave Watt (V) Team Elite 12:36
14 Danny Roberts CRM 12:45
15 Owain Williams (U23) ECJRT 12:54 2nd U23
16 Callum Dixon Rhos 12:59
17 Colin Pritchard CRM 13:03
18 Gareth Owen (J) HCC 13:05 3rd Junior
19 Euros Jones (V) CRM 13:06
20 Dylan Griffiths ECC 13:07
21 John Ramo Clitheroe 13:09
22 Dafydd Evans (U23) UoSCC 13:13 3rd U23
23 Sion McGuinness CRM 13:15
24 Dafydd Hughes ECC 13:21
25 Osian Craig (J) ECC 13:29
26 Steffan Jones (V) ECC 13:29
27 Meirion Davies (V) ECC 13:38
28 Sion Ellis (J) ECJRT 13:44
29 Caron Jones CBD 13:50
30 Jamie Holding (V) ECC 13:57
31 Mitch Russell ECC 13:58
32 Steve Matthews HCC 14:06
33 Wayne Owen (V) ECC 14:24
34 John Williams (V) ECC 14:29
35 Geraint Jones (V) ECC 14:31
36 Jess Roberts (W) Team Elite 14:46 1st Lady
37 Sion-Kelly Williams (J) ECC 14:46
38 Tony Hughes ECC 15:06
39 Paul Cristie Black Cat CC 15:15
40 Mathew Butler (J) ECC 15:36
41 Mark Gray (V) ECC 15:42
42 Tom Albiston HCC 15:43
43 Dylan Davies (V) CBD 16:10
44 Mary Hancock (W) GOG 17:09 2nd Lady

Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>